Monday, the Minnesota Twins announced the Diamond Award winners, the team’s awards for the 2012 season.

Left fielder Josh Willingham was named the team’s most valuable player, the Calvin R. Griffith award. Scott Diamond was named the team’s pitcher of the year and most outstanding rookie.

Other awards were given to Ben Revere, as most improved player, and was the first time recipient of the Jim Kaat defensive player of the year award. Joe Mauer won the Upper Midwest player of the year. It is the fifth award for Mauer. Justin Morneau was given the Bob Allison award for his determination, hustle, tenacity, competitive spirit, and leadership. Lastly, Glen Perkins was given the Mike Augustin award for his healthy relations with the media.