Contact Us
Make My Homepage

Pro Football Hall of Fame Semi-Finalists Announced

NBC Sunday Night Football
Getty Images

Perennial All-Pro linebacker Derrick Brooks and wide receiver Marvin Harrison were among 25 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s class of 2014 announced Wednesday night.




Brooks and Harrison, along with tackle Walter Jones and coach Tony Dungy, were the first-year eligible candidates to make the cut from 126 to 25. Brooks won a Super Bowl with Tampa Bay, while Harrison and Dungy were champions with Indianapolis.


Other star players being considered for induction to the Canton, Ohio, shrine next August include placekicker Morten Andersen, running back Jerome Bettis, defensive end-linebacker Charles Haley, safety John Lynch and defensive end Michael Strahan.


Former commissioner Paul Tagliabue also made the semifinals.


The Hall of Fame election will be held Feb. 1, the night before the Super Bowl, in New York.


Along with Harrison, who is third in career receptions with 1,102, Brooks, Dungy and Jones, two other previously eligible candidates made the final 25 for the modern era: coach Jimmy Johnson and guard Steve Wisniewski.


Johnson won two Super Bowls leading the Dallas Cowboys.


The list of 25 semifinalists will be reduced to 15 modern-era finalists. Those 15 will be joined by two recommended candidates from hall’s seniors committee: punter Ray Guy and defensive end Claude Humphrey.


Although there is no set number of enshrinees for any Hall of Fame class, between four and seven new members are selected each year. No more than five modern-era nominees can be elected in a given year.


The semifinalists, in alphabetical order:


Morten Andersen, PK


Steve Atwater, S


Jerome Bettis, RB


Derrick Brooks, LB


Tim Brown, WR-KR


Don Coryell, Coach


Roger Craig, RB,


Terrell Davis, RB


Edward DeBartolo Jr., Owner


Tony Dungy, Coach


Kevin Greene, LB-DE


Charles Haley, DE-LB


Marvin Harrison, WR


Joe Jacoby, OT


Jimmy Johnson, Coach


Walter Jones, OT


John Lynch, S


Karl Mecklenburg, LB


Andre Reed, WR


Will Shields, G


Michael Strahan, DE


Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner


Aeneas Williams, CB-S


Steve Wisniewski, G


George Young, Contributor

Copyright 2013 by The Associated Press

Best of ESPN 99.1

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for ESPN 99.1 MVP Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive ESPN 99.1 MVP Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.