An undermanned Canton Charge squad was no match for the loaded Sioux Falls Skyforce who dominated 117-85 sweeping their way to the NBADL Finals.

Accumulating five trophies in one night is another historic footnote on this season as four individuals for Sioux Falls (2-0) were rewarded for their efforts during the regular season. First came DeAndre Liggins with his Defensive Player of the Year Award, then MVP Jarnell Stokes followed suit. Coach Dan Craig was named Coach of the Year and General Manager Adam Simon was Executive of the year.

Number five was figuratively in the Sioux Falls trophy case by the end of the first quarter. Canton (0-2) needed big nights from Rookie of the Year Quinn Cook and de facto 6th Man of the Year Nick Minnerath to have a chance. At halftime Cook had 2 points, finishing with 12 and Minnerath got three early fouls and finished with 11 tallies. Antoine Agudio topped the Charge with 14. Assignees Sasha Kaun and Jordan McRae from Cleveland who contributed mightily in Game 1 were with the Cavs instead for their own Game 1 against Detroit.

Stokes shot 9 of 11 from the floor including one from downtown to finish with 24. Rodney McGruder chalked up 18 points with Keith Benson staking claim to a double-double (15 points, 10 rebounds) and Jabril Trawick heating up in the fourth quarter to also finish with 15.

It is still unclear who the Skyforce will face in the D-League Finals. Los Angeles leads Austin 1-0 in the Western Conference Finals, but their game was postponed in the third quarter because the sheet of ice underneath the court at Cedar Park Center in Austin was producing unsafe floor conditions.

See Also: