There's been a lot of talk around the Summit League about how the South Dakota State men would fare this basketball season without Nate Wolters, who's now playing with the Milwaukee Bucks in the NBA.

The early consensus?  The Jackrabbits won't be as good.

SDSU is third in the 2013-14 Summit League Basketball Pre-Season poll, voted on by   league coaches, sports information directors, and media. The Jacks did not receive a single first place vote.  SDSU was 25-10 last season, winning the Summit League regular season and tournament titles before losing the Michigan in the opening round of the NCAA Tournament.

South Dakota is picked to finish seventh out of eight teams.  The Coyotes were 10-20 last year, and will have an interim head coach this season, as longtime assistant Joey James takes over for Dave Boots who retired last month.

North Dakota State is the top pick in the conference, returning all five starters from last years 24-10 team. The Bison also have the pre-season player of the year, guard Taylor Braun.

Robby Gallagher/South Dakota State University

South Dakota State's Jordan Dykstra is on the first team pre-season all-conference team.  The senior from Rock Valley, Iowa averaged 13 points and eight rebounds a game last season.

South Dakota's Trevor Gruis is one the second team.

The regular season starts November 8th, and the Summit League schedule begins January 9th.

The 2014 Summit League Tournament will be held in Sioux Falls for the sixth straight year,  March 8th - 11th.


Rk Team (1st) Pts.
1. North Dakota State (25) 305
2. Denver (3) 260
3. South Dakota State 233
4. Western Illinois 161
5. Omaha 130
6. Fort Wayne 120
7. South Dakota 102
8. IUPUI   81


First Team

Name School Pos. Ht. Yr.
Lawrence Alexander North Dakota State G 6-3 Jr.
Marshall Bjorklund North Dakota State F 6-8 Sr.
Taylor Braun North Dakota State G 6-7 Sr.
Jordan Dykstra South Dakota State F 6-8 Sr.
Justin Simmons Omaha G 6-3 Sr.
Chris Udofia Denver F 6-6 Sr.

Second Team

Name School Pos. Ht. Yr.
Trevor Gruis South Dakota C 6-10 Sr.
Luis Jacobo Fort Wayne F 6-5 Sr.
Adam Link Western Illinois F 6-6 Sr.
Brett Olson Denver G 6-5 Jr.
Mitch Patton IUPUI C 6-9 Sr.

Preseason Player of the Year: Taylor Braun, North Dakota State