A pair of local players are on the College Sports Madness All-Summit League pre-season first team.

South Dakota State forward Megan Waytashek and South Dakota guard Nicole Seekamp join IUPUI's DeAirra Goss, Fort Wayne's Amanda Hyde, and Western Illinois' Ashley Luke on the first team.

Photo by Dave Eggen/Inertia

Waytashek, a junior from Lino Lakes, Minnesota, started all 33 games for the Jackrabbits last season, averaging 13.5 points and 4.3 rebounds a game.

She shot 48% from the floor, 83% from the free throw line, and led the team in minutes played, 28.8 minutes a game.

Photo by Dave Eggen/Inertia

Seekamp, a junior from Renmark, Australia, led the Coyotes in scoring last season, averaging 14.9 points a game.  She also averaged 4 rebounds a game, and led USD with 57 steals and 45 3-pointers.

Seekamp shot 41% from the floor, 84% from the free throw line.

Photo by Dave Eggen/Inertia

South Dakota State's Aaron Johnston is the Summit League pre-season coach of the year.

Johnston is 315-107 (.746) as he enters his 14th season in Brookings.  He is the all-time winning coach in SDSU women's basketball history.

The Jackrabbits have won the Summit League regular season championship four times and captured the Summit League Tournament crown five straight years under Johnston's leadership.

USD's Polly Harrington is on the second team

Fort Wayne's Amanda Hyde is the pre-season player of the year.