Contact Us
Make My Homepage

South Dakota State’s Women Favored to Win Summit League Basketball Crown

SDSU vs. USD Basketball Summit League Tournament
Dave Eggen/Inertia

If the Summit League women’s basketball ‘experts’ are correct, South Dakota State can add ‘three-peat’ to an already impressive run of success in the conference.

The Jackrabbits are the 2013-14 women’s basketball preseason favorite, grabbing 27-of-30 first-place votes and 319 points in the voting conducted by the league’s head coaches, sports information directors, and media.

In their last six years as a member in the conference, head coach Aaron Johnston’s team has four regular season titles, including the last two, and five straight conference tournament crowns.

Last season’s tournament runner-up, South Dakota placed third with 224 points.

SDSU’s Megan Waytashek and USD’s Nicole Seekamp are on the pre-season all-conference first team.

Waytashek averaged 14 points a game and shot better than 41% from behind the 3-point arc last season.

Seekamp was the Tournament MVP last season, after averaging 15 points and 3 assists a game during the regular season.

South Dakota State’s Steph Paluch and South Dakota’s Polly Harrington are on the second team.

The regular season begins November 8th, with conference play tipping off January 9th..

The 2014 Summit League Tournament returns to the Sioux Falls Arena for the sixth straight year, March 8th-11th.


2013-14 Summit League Women’s Basketball Preseason Poll
Place Team Points (1st)
1. South Dakota State 319 (27)
2. IUPUI 276 (3)
3. South Dakota 224
4. Fort Wayne 179
5. Denver 169
6. Western Illinois 146
7. Omaha 77
8. North Dakota State 74






First Team
Name School Pos. Year
DeAirra Goss IUPUI G Sr.
Amanda Hyde Fort Wayne G/F Sr.
Ashley Luke Western Illinois F So.
Nicole Seekmap South Dakota G Jr.
Morgan Van Riper-Rose Denver G Jr.
Megan Waytashek South Dakota State G/F Jr.
Second Team
Name School Pos. Year
Dee-Dee Bellamy IUPUI G Sr.
Polly Harrington South Dakota F Sr.
Ericka House Omaha G Sr.
Steph Paluch South Dakota State G Sr.
Haley Seibert Fort Wayne F Jr.
Preseason Player of the Year: Amanda Hyde, Fort Wayne

Best of ESPN 99.1

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for ESPN 99.1 MVP Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive ESPN 99.1 MVP Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.