As they prepare to do battle in Game 1 of their Best-of-3 series, Sioux Falls and Canton represent locations that are looking for their first NBADL Championship.  In the historical sense, both these franchises are no strangers to championship basketball.

The Skyforce have two titles in their 25 years of existence.  Season 7 in the franchise annals brought the first title during the CBA days.  A 3-2 championship series win over the Fort Wayne (Fury) in 1996.  Season 16 circa 2005 brought trophy number 2.  That year Sioux Falls vanquished the Rockford Lightning 3 games to 1.  Two other times Sioux Falls was beaten in the CBA championship series in 1998 and 1999 respectively.  Since joining the NBA Development League, in three previous appearances, the 'Force lost twice in the 2nd Round and did not advance past Round 1 back in 2010.

Charting the course of championship basketball for the Charge takes a little more navigation to say the least.  Before landing in the community most associated with the Pro Football Hall of Fame, the winding trail began in Alabama then ventured toward Albuquerque before heading north to Canton.  Each of the three seasons since the Cleveland Cavaliers took ownership has featured a playoff run.  The championship portion of this group’s history took place in 2006, the first year after moving from Huntsville, Alabama to New Mexico.  The Thunderbirds captured the D-League title by subduing the Fort Worth Flyers.

Considering the turnover in the D-League it is astounding that two players currently with the Charge were a part of the group playing in New Mexico.  Antoine Agudio is in his 5th season with Canton/New Mexico and Shane Edwards is currently in year 4 with the franchise though not consecutively for either player.

The series starts Thursday night in Canton before returning to Sioux Falls for Game 2 on Saturday and if necessary Game 3 is set for Monday.