Nicole Seekamp certainly made the most of her 'bonus season' at the University of South Dakota.

The senior guard is the Summit League Player of the Year, the first Coyote to ever grab that honor.

The Australia native finished second in the conference in scoring and free throw shooting, first in assists and three-point percentage, and third in steals. She is one of only two players in the nation to average 16 points, six assists, and 2.5 steals a game this season.

Seekamp won the Summit League Tournament Most Valuable Player award in both 2013 and 2015.

Her career in Vermillion appeared to be over after the 2015 season, after the NCAA initially granted her only three years of eligibility because of her participation with the South Australia team prior to coming to USD. But during the off-season the NCAA ruled that she was unfairly penalized and granted her an additional year with the Coyotes.

Seekamp is also on the All-Summit League First Team along with South Dakota State's Macy Miller.

Miller, a sophomore and Mitchell native, scored 14 points and game and was in the conference top ten in assists, assists-to-turnover ratio, and free throw shooting.

The rest of the first team is North Dakota State’s Marena Whittle, Omaha’s Mikaela Shaw, and IUPUI’s Danielle Lawrence and Mikale Rogers.

SDSU's Clarissa Ober is the Summit League's Defensive Player of the Year. The junior center finished the regular season second in blocked shots and fifth in rebounding.

Her teammate, Madison Guebert, is the  Summit League Freshman of the Year. She averaged 12 points per game.

USD Junior guard Caitlin Duffy is the conference's Transfer of the Year and is on the Summit League's All-Newcomer Team. The Colorado State transfer started all 16 conference games, averaging seven points and four rebounds. She was second in the Summit in assist -to-turnover ratio.

South Dakota's Amy Williams is the Summit League Coach of the Year for the second straight season. In her fourth season, she guided the Coyotes to the first 15-win Summit League regular season by any team, in a 16-game schedule, since 1998.

See Also: