It seems like only yesterday Battlefield 4's map names were reportedly leaked, but now DICE has confirmed what these battlefields will really be called.

A few posts on the official Battlefield Blog reveal both the names of the multiplayer maps and the confirmed multiplayer modes we'll see in the game. It seems a lot of the map names revealed yesterday truly were internal placeholder names, and the confirmed list of the maps shipping with the game is as follows:

  • Siege of Shanghai
  • Paracel Storm
  • Zavod 311
  • Lancang Dam
  • Flood Zone
  • Rogue Transmission
  • Hainan Resort
  • Dawnbreaker
  • Operation Locker
  • Golmud Railway
The post highlights the Zavod 311 map, which is set in a Soviet tank factory from the Cold War era. It is an area overgrown with vegetation, but deep within the compound is an active warhead. The coolest part? Players can activate this warhead and totally change the environment as a result.
Another post revealed the game modes we'll be able to engage in once the game is released. Many familiar game modes, like Conquest, Domination, Rush, Team Deathmatch and Squad Deathmatch, make their return, but two new modes make their debut in Battlefield 4.
The first new mode is called Obliteration and features a lot of explosive gameplay. Each team is tasked with finding a bombing, dropping it off at an opponent's objective, arming it and then destroying said objective. Afterwards, a new bomb randomly spawns somewhere on the map and the teams will have to scramble for it again. The first team to destroy all three of the opposing team's objectives wins.
The second new mode is a close quarters combat game called Defuse. In this 5 vs. 5 mode, players are given only one life per round and teams can win by eliminating the opposing squad or arming and detonating one of their objectives. This mode is supposed to be highly competitive and seems tailor-made for the most hardcore of Battlefield players.
Check out the links above to see the maps and modes in even more detail. Battlefield 4 will be released on Oct. 29 for the PC, PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. The next-gen versions of the game will launch with their respective consoles.