All 32 NFL teams nominate one player from their team to be the NFL Sportsman of the Year and the Minnesota Vikings have nominated Chad Greenway for the second year in a row.

The official name of the award is the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award named after Pittsburgh Steelers founding owner Art Rooney Sr.

The 32 nominees will be narrowed down to eight finalists consisting of four from each conference.  A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will select those finalists and is comprised of Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and former Vikings CB Leonard Wheeler.

According to, here's how the voting will go: The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award when players vote on Dec. 18. From the eight finalists, each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of its choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

Minneapolis native and Arizona Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald won the inaugural Art Rooney Award.

The winner will be announced at the NFL Honors Show on February 6th, 2016 and will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice and a trophy.


Arizona Cardinals DT Calais Campbell
Atlanta Falcons CB Desmond Trufant
Baltimore Ravens RB Justin Forsett
Buffalo Bills QB Tyrod Taylor
Carolina Panthers LB Luke Kuechly
Chicago Bears RB Matt Forté
Cincinnati Bengals LB Vinny Rey
Cleveland Browns QB Josh McCown
Dallas Cowboys LB Sean Lee
Denver Broncos WR Demaryius Thomas
Detroit Lions WR Calvin Johnson
Green Bay Packers LB Julius Peppers
Houston Texans T Duane Brown
Indianapolis Colts QB Matt Hasselbeck
Jacksonville Jaguars DT Sen'Derrick Marks
Kansas City Chiefs LB Derrick Johnson
Miami Dolphins DT Earl Mitchell
Minnesota Vikings LB Chad Greenway
New England Patriots T Nate Solder
New Orleans Saints TE Benjamin Watson
New York Giants RB Rashad Jennings
New York Jets LB David Harris
Oakland Raiders S Charles Woodson
Philadelphia Eagles LB DeMeco Ryans
Pittsburgh Steelers CB William Gay
San Diego Chargers QB Philip Rivers
San Francisco 49ers T Joe Staley
Seattle Seahawks WR Jermaine Kearse
St. Louis Rams DT Aaron Donald
Tampa Bay Buccaneers DT Gerald McCoy
Tennessee Titans CB Jason McCourty
Washington Redskins RB Alfred Morris