Austin McCarl slid the 17A into victory lane Sunday $10,000 richer. McCarl held off a late-race charge from Mark Dobmeier for the victory.

Austin McCarl recalled nearly winning the Dollar Loan Center event in 2013, but said it was just one mistake that let Ian Madsen past on that night. In 2014, McCarl would not falter.

In the race within the race, Terry McCarl crossed the finish line in seventh, but that teamed with setting quick time locked up the Altoona, Iowa, driver’s eighth career championship at Huset’s Speedway.

Dylan Peterson, Craig Dollansky and Ian Madsen rounded out the top five in the feature. Dobmeier is the season runner-up with Justin Henderson third in the standings.

Colin Smith was speechless in victory lane after taking his first-career win in the micro sprint feature. Brandon Buysse is the 2014 champion.

Jesse Akkerman took of the Bolte’s Rolloff Service Street Stock feature on lap ten and went on to the checkered flag, his first of the year. Darrin Korthals is the season champion.

Colter Deutsch moved to the lead of the B-modified feature on the eighth lap. Deutsch would hold on for his eleventh win of 2014. The Kanaranzi, Minnesota, driver is the champion as well.

Dustin Gulbrandson started eighth on the hobby stock grid, but would take the lead on lap nine. The 2014 season champion went on to get his seventh win of the year.

That closes the 2014 season at Huset’s Speedway.

Here's Austin McCarl in victory lane. That's his mom at the far left.

Doug Johnson