Rumored for quite some time, it appears Activision and Infinity Ward are finally ready to reveal the truth about Call of Duty: Ghosts' Extinction mode.

Over on the official Call of Duty Instagram page, a short teaser video was posted of the Ghosts logo transforming into what appeared to be an alien head. Written with the post was the statement, "Survive the #Extinction." Earlier this summer, rumors about a new mode coming to Ghosts hinted at new Extinction being a wave-based multiplayer battle against aliens insurgents. It's believed Extinction is to be Infinity Ward's answer to Treyarch's Zombies.

More details on Extinction are expected to come soon, as Activision has typically followed up teases such as this with more concrete information shortly thereafter. With Call of Duty: Ghosts set to launch on Nov. 5, there's not much time to drop any new information, so we'll likely learn more about Extinction in the coming week.

Additionally, the full list of maps and modes from multiplayer have reportedly leaked, too. Including the pre-order incentive Free Fall map, Ghosts will supposedly arrive with 15 maps at launch. According to VG247, a few copies of the shooter have already found their way into the wild, giving players opportunity to leak previously unknown details. You can check out a comprehensive list of the maps and modes available below.


  • Chasm
  • Flooded
  • Free Fall (Bonus Map)
  • Freight
  • Octane
  • Overload
  • Prison Break
  • Seige
  • Sovereign
  • Stonehaven
  • Strikezone
  • Stormfront
  • Tremor
  • Warhawk
  • Whiteout


  • Blitz
  • Cranked
  • Domination
  • Free-for-All
  • Grind
  • Hunted
  • Infected
  • Kill Confirmed
  • Search and Destroy
  • Search and Rescue
  • Team Deathmatch