The way champions are decided each year in the world's largest stock car racing circuit has been tested with a couple different systems.

The intentions being to make it as exciting for the fans as possible. But also keeping it fair to the race teams.

NASCAR won't change its new championship format, which chairman Brian France says is "overwhelmingly popular" with fans.

"The Chase" was revamped in 2014 into an elimination style system that created a winner-take-all final race among four drivers.

Kevin Harvick won the season finale at Homestead in November to claim his first Sprint Cup title.