PIERRE, S.D. (AP) - The state Board of Regents has appointed a dozen people to a committee that will help search for the next president of the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology in Rapid City.

Those on the committee will include students, faculty and business executives.

Regent Terry Baloun (Ba-LOON) will chair the search committee. Other regents on the panel include Dean Krogman (KROHG-man), Randy Morris and Kathryn Johnson.

Baloun says input from campus and community leaders is valuable in the effort to find a new president for the school.

The new president will succeed Robert Wharton, who died in September from complications from earlier cancer treatments.

Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All rights reserved. Material may not be redistributed.