Scott Dixon had a four-lap average of 226.760 mph in qualifying Sunday to claim his second Indianapolis 500 pole.

The Target Chip Ganassi Racing driver ended Team Penske's streak of eight straight pole wins.

Defending series champion Will Power will start second in the May 24 race after going 226.350 mph. Simon Pagenaud will start on the outside of Row 1.

After Ed Carpenter's car went airborne in practice, series officials instructed teams to make adjustments that took away power to the cars.

It was the third crash this week in which a car lost contact with the track. Helio Castroneves, three-time winner of the iconic race, lost control of his car during practice hitting the wall and flipping end over end escaping injury.