The awards are out.  Six sports figures from coaches to administration/officials have been honored by the SDHSCA for their efforts during the 2015 Winter Sports schedule in South Dakota.

In what was seemingly a super quick winter sports season, these members below were honored as Coach of the Year Award winners in South Dakota.

The information below is courtesy of the SDHSCA.


Sioux Falls, SD – The South Dakota High School Coaches Association announces the Coach of the Year Awards for the Winter of 2015 (Other nominees listed below each winner):

Gymnastics – Angela Grupe, Britton-Hecla

Vicky Fisher, Watertown; Pam Junek, Rapid City Central; Audra Rew, Mitchell

Wrestling – Mark Stoebner, Bon Homme/Scotland

James Boehmer, Parkston; Rocky Burkett, Aberdeen Central; Darrell Kortan, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; Shawn Lewis, Pierre

Girls’ Basketball – Jamie Parish, Sioux Falls Washington

Brandon Kandolin, St. Thomas More; Kent Kolsrud, Sioux Falls O’Gorman; Gary Nebelsick, Elk Point-Jefferson; Mark Senftner, Sully Buttes; Tom Young, Ethan

Boys’ Basketball – Paul Raasch, Langford Area
Jason Fersdahl, Dell Rapids; Jeff Halseth, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Craig Nelson, Sioux Falls Washington; Todd Neuendorf, Aberdeen Roncalli

Athletic Director – Dan Whalen, Pierre

Bill Clements, Dakota Valley; Randy Marso, Brandon Valley; Joey Struwe, Harrisburg

Official – Moe Ruesink, Volga

Dave Cornemann, Yankton; Bobby Fossum, Aberdeen; Tom Hilsendeger, Bath; Todd Landsman, Sioux Falls; Fran Ruesink, Dell Rapids; Bernie Schuurmans, Madison; Deb Sternhagen, Tyndall; Carrie Wieman, Madison

Last year’s winners:
Gymnastics – Sherri Knippling, Chamberlain
Wrestling – Rocky Burkett, Aberdeen Central
Girls’ Basketball – Nate Malchow, Sioux Falls Washington
Boys’ Basketball – Michael Ricke, Madison
Athletic Director – Mark Meile, Sioux Falls Public Schools
Official – Donnie Kayser, Alexandria

These coaches, athletic director and official will be recognized at the annual awards banquet to be held in Aberdeen on Wednesday, July 15, 2015 in conjunction with the summer coaches’ clinic.

******* Information Courtesy of SDHSCA