The University of South Dakota captured its first men's championship at The Summit League Indoor Track and Field Championships held Sunday and Monday at the Dakota Dome.

The Coyotes finished with 190 points.  Runner up North Dakota State had 176.5 points.  South Dakota State was fourth with 85.333 points.

South Dakota won three individual honors.  Jeff Mettler earned Track Championship MVP, winning the 3,000-meters with a time of 8:18.69 and the mile in 4:11.18.  He also took third place in the 5,000-meter run with a time of 14:40.28.

Chris Nielsen was named the Newcomer of the Championships, winning the 400-meter dash in 50.28 seconds and anchoring the winning 1,600-meter relay team.

Dave Gottsleben was named Summit League men's Coach of the Year.

Four more Coyotes won individual championships.  Kyle McKelvey defended his shot put title with a throw of 58-feet 8.75-inches.  Jeff O'Connell took the long jump with a leap of 24-feet 3.75-inches.  The 60-meter dash went to Michael Burrus in a time 6.83 seconds.  Kyle Ballew captured the pole vault with a vault of 17-feet 1-inch.

South Dakota State's Trent Lusignan won the 5000-meter championship in 14:33.69

On the women's side, North Dakota State won it's league record sixth championship with 186 points.  Nebraska-Omaha was second with 118 points and USD third with 114.  SDSU finished fifth with 73 points.

Coyote freshman Amber Eichkorn earned the women's Newcomer of the Year award.  She placed third in the 3,000-meter run with a time of 9:55.43 and was fourth in the 5,000-meter run (17:30.65).

USD's Bethany Buell continued her dominance in the pole vault.  Buell set Summit League and DakotaDome records, clearing 14-feet 5.5-inches.  It was also the fourth best vault in the nation.

South Dakota's Megan Glisar won the high jump.  Her leap of 5-feet 11.25-inches also set league and DakotaDome records and is the 18th-best jump in the country to date.