SIOUX FALLS - The four presidents on Mount Rushmore are going on tour.  The South Dakota Department of Tourism is taking the four mascots on tour in the central United States in June as part of a promotion to drive more visitors to the state.

Tourism Secretary James Hagen tells The Associated Press that the tour will start in Sioux Falls and then head to Omaha, Neb., Kansas City, Mo., Milwaukee, Minneapolis, Chicago and Fargo, N.D., among other cities.

Along the way, representatives from the Tourism Department will stop at major sites and conduct media interviews.

The four mascots have already been to New York City. They traveled to the Big Apple in November to promote the state's float in the Macy's Thanksgiving Day parade.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.