Two South Dakota High School graduates are receiving the U.S. Presidential Scholar designation.

Since 1964 the Presidential Scholars Program has honored more than 6,000 of this country's best students. The South Dakota Recipients this year are, Tessa H. Myren of Riggs High School in Pierre, and from Washington High School in Sioux Falls, Micah C. Shaffer.

A ceremony will be held June 16th, in Washington, D.C. where Tessa, Micah, and the other top students will receive a Presidential Medallion.

On a personal note, I know Micah. Mark and Debra Shaffer of Sioux Falls are his very proud parents. Micah also received recognition from Governor Daugaard for being one of the best in South Dakota. For college, Micah will be attending Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland.

There are many young people quietly going about the task and challenge of getting an education, staying out of trouble, and having a positive impact on others. I thought we should take a moment and tip our hats to Micah and Tessa, for being successful in their endeavors.