GRAND FORKS, N.D. (AP) — University of North Dakota goaltender Cam Johnson is a finalist for goalie of the year in NCAA Division I men's hockey.

Johnson is one of five finalists for the Mike Richter Award. Others are Massachusetts-Lowell's Kevin Boyle, Boston College's Thatcher Demko, St. Cloud State's Charlie Lindgren and Yale's Alex Lyon.

The award is based on play and sportsmanship, academic achievement and community involvement. Last year, it went to UND goalie Zane MacIntyre.

Johnson leads the nation with a 1.58 goals-against average and is tied for the national lead with a 0.938 save percentage. The Troy, Michigan, native has a 20-3-1 record with five shutouts and leads the country in winning percentage.

The award will be presented April 8 at the NCAA Frozen Four in Tampa, Florida.

Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

See Also: