There was one team behind the one in 23-1 of the O'Gorman Knights, and now they are the team behind the two in 23-2.

The Washington Warriors entered the 2015 Class AA Girls State Basketball Tournament as the sixth seed and had to go through two city rivals to win a title. The Warriors opened up the tournament with a 67-55 win over Lincoln, and a semifinal win over Harrisburg 50-35. Standing in their way on championship night was Sioux Falls O'Gorman.

It was a game on in which both teams played fairly even, and that was expected after Washington handed O'Gorman their only loss on the regular season. Both teams shot 35% from the field, and turnovers were separated by only one in advantage of O'Gorman. Both teams had two players score in double figures, and two players helping out immensely during the game.

Something had to give. O'Gorman won the first quarter 11-2, while Washington took the second quarter 16-7 to have a tie game at halftime. It looked like O'Gorman was on its way to their first title since 1995 when they went on a 11-5 run in the 3rd. Washington countered in the fourth by putting up 22 points to secure the win 45-42.

Washington was led by Sydney Arrington's 16 points and eight rebounds. Anna Goodhope added 14 points while Kelsi Kearney and Jade Visker had six each. O'Gorman's Jessica Mieras led the team with 15, while Kate Cartwright had 12. Katie Messler and Dalee Steen had seven and eight a piece respectively.

The Warriors have won two consecutive titles and won their fourth in school history in Class AA.


SF Washington 45, SF O'Gorman 42

3rd/4th Place:
Aberdeen Central 58, Harrisburg 41

5th/6th Place:
SF Lincoln 58, RC Stevens 44

7th/8th Place:
Pierre 62, Huron 47

Spirit of Six:
Aberdeen Central Cheerleaders

Spirit of Su:
Sydney Palmer - Pierre